Dear Teacher…

Dear Teacher…

To write to You, dear Teacher
Do I set forth- but from whither
Do I begin, via quill and parchment
On the path from chalk to cerebral enrichment


Of how You taught me life’s ABCs
Magic words- a sorry, a please
Oh, but how do I love thee, let me count the ways!
That would take not a moment, but a million days


Today, I celebrate You
For inspirations like You are indeed few!
Rejoice, I shall-with poetry and art
With gratitude, yes, plus color and Mozart!


When Teacher's Back is Turned -Jacob Taanman (Dutch, b. 1836 - d. 1923)

Reverberating with mayhem and mischief
Here a shove, there a pout, everywhere a tiff!
How You embraced us- a multicolored, knotted clew
With the needle of truth, weaved us into spirited patchwork anew

George Bernard Shaw, photograph by Yousuf Karsh (Karsh/Woodfin Camp and Associates)

And when I saw that look in Your eyes
Poof! went the excuses, ridden with lies!
A true friend, philosopher and guide
Why, You taught me to ride the most violent tide!

Teacher, I know today that it is indeed true
My soul learnt to sing in the hour before dawn from You
You raise me up, to more than I can be
You raise me up, how ever do I thank thee?!

Paying Homage to the Teacher on a Holiday, 1893 - Henri-Jules-Jean Geoffroy (French, b. 1853 - d. 1924)

There we stood, each year, in line
To pay homage to you, a creature divine
With flowers and notes, we tried to say it all
But then, as now, dismally short do we fall


On Teacher’s Day: my respects, my love
My gratitude to expanses undreamed of
For believing in me, when the ground fell through
For being a Teacher, for being You!


4 thoughts on “Dear Teacher…

Leave a Reply

