Rain Rhapsody

Rains lash on the road. The hyper-ventilating wind rocks my car in great anticipation. Stray leaves, decked in green and gold, fall upon the periphery of my vision shielded by glass, and are whisked away by those efficient mechanized reptiles.

Music flows. Fluid, soothing, mesmerizing. I close my mind to the world, and converse with those droplets of pristine water, which brave wind and thorns, metal and tar, for that one moment of realization on my part…

I pull over. Look up to the now-cheery clouds, wave brightly, and call out.. ‘Thank you! I love you too!’

Music continues to flow, and I discover the song which drove me to embrace the monsoon, reminding me that a lifetime is never enough.

Khudaya ve from the movie Luck. Performed by Salim Merchant, composed by Salim- Suleiman. Lyrics by Shabbir Ahmed.

My attempt at a translation expresses the feel of the song rather than the nitty-gritty..

Khudaya Ve .. Hai …
Ishq Hai Kaisa Ye Ajeeb Re

My God, my Master.. sigh..
How  inscrutably bizarre love is…

Dil Ke Kareeb Laya Dil Ka Naseeb Re
Dil Ke Kareeb Laya Dil Ka Naseeb Re

My heart inched closer to me
Fueled, guided by its destiny

Khudaya Ve .. Hai …
Ishq Hai Kaisa Ye Ajeeb Re

My God, my Master.. sigh..
How  inscrutably bizarre love is…

Aankhon Se Khwaab Ruthe
Apno Ke Saath Chuthe
Tapti Hui Raaho Mein
Paron Ke Chaale Futhe

Dreams abandoned my eyes and sulked away
Ties with my loved ones burn in the hearth
In the blazing heat of the paths I tread
While the soles of my feet crack like barren earth

Pyaase Tadap Raahe Hain
Sahil Kareeb Re
Pyaase Tadap Raahe Hain
Sahil Kareeb Re

I suffer, tortured with an unquenchable thirst
Hail, my shore comes within reach, lest in heat I burst

Khudaya Ve .. Hai …
Ishq Hai Kaisa Ye Ajeeb Re

My God, my Master.. sigh..
How  inscrutably bizarre love is…

Ni sa re ni sa re re ga re ga re re ga re
Ma ga re sa ma ga re sa ma ga re sa

Aasu Namak Se Lage
Rishte Hain Kachhe Dhaage
Ret Pe Apne Saaye
Khud Se Kyun Door Bhaage

My tears meet their innate salt in destined union
Destined, like are bonds, wrought of silvery fine threads
Perhaps wondering why, on the fiery sands of the desert
My shadow steals away, hiding from self-communion

Kheench Ke Humko Laya
Kahaan Pe Rakeeb Re
Kheench Ke Humko Laya
Kahaan Pe Rakeeb Re

Where, Oh Master!
My Creator, Protector, my watchful Caretaker
Which world have you dragged me into?

Khudaya Ve .. Hai …
Ishq Hai Kaisa Ye Ajeeb Re

My God, my Master.. sigh..
How  inscrutably bizarre love is…

Go on.. run into the rains akin to a child of five..just once more..

Go on..fall in love.. just once more..

Go on.. learn that once more..is actually another word for..

Forevermore…

7 thoughts on “Rain Rhapsody

  1. This post makes me want to really wish for more rains…you make it sound so beautiful.
    That song is also so soothing…lovely

  2. Breathtaking; A single droplet of water from the corner of my eye makes me wish to merge with the rain and become eternal.

Leave a Reply

