Dead Leaves

 

Dead leaves lay along my way
Bashful in green a distant day
Will you, like me, I ask
For stillness be taken to task?

Dead leaves lay along my way
Crisply roasted in the heat of May
Luscious, resilient in a bygone age
Now brown and brittle- an Indus page

Dead leaves lay along my way
Then clinging to the gushing spray
Scattered hither-thither, playing pek-a-boo
 With the wind, the breeze, with the air too 

Dead leaves lay along my way
Nestling now in earthy fray
Six feet below the old trunk, their cradle
Certain to be chopped to chisel a dreidel 

Dead leaves lay along my way
No friends of fiery blaze, now or ever, nay 
Then why swirl, float to golden clutches
Halt! Kibosh! Fly before you it touches!

Dead leaves once lay along my way
Shredded and sooty, they flew away
From air to green to brown to black to air
Life is plenum after all, neither delirious not unfair

Leave a Reply

