I see Change

I see Change
In star-spangled banners
In tri-colors and green
In a shanty becoming a manor

I see Change
In Bangalore, Bejing, Bahamas
In Kenya, proud of its off-springs
In demolishing ceilings of glass

I see Change
In every happy tear in blue
In supporting smiles of red
In united jubilation anew

I see Change
In youth, in children
In war veterans, in workforces
In variously-hued women

I see Change
Strengthened by its causes
A promise of, by, for the people
The new mantra of the masses

I see Change
Spreading seeds far and near
Eradicating poverty, corruption
Wars and inherent fear

I see Change
In You, in Me
As a million become one
Changing to become truly united, truly free.

 

 

“Hope is not blind optimism. It’s not ignoring the enormity of the tasks ahead or the roadblocks that stand in our path. It’s not sitting on the sidelines or shirking from a fight.

Hope is that thing inside us that insists, despite all the evidence to the contrary, that something better awaits us if we have the courage to reach for it and to work for it and to fight for it.”

– Barack Obama,

all set to be the 44th President of the United States of America

2 thoughts on “I see Change

  1. Lovely poem! Pretty much sums up all the hopes Americans and others have pinned on Obama. I hope to see the change, I really do. Your poetic skills are exemplary, btw. 🙂

    Thank you! 🙂
    It is a daunting task, I hope he lives up to the immense expectations the American and international communities have from him!

  2. The metamorphosis of hope into change and change into growth and development is very well brought out in the poem.
    Your choice of words is excellent! 🙂
    Mom

    Merci beaucoup!

Leave a Reply

