Eyes over Years

Change is inevitable. But certain traits remain constant throughout the years and give wandering souls like me, who border on the insane, proof that borders are long crossed and chaos is the name of the game.  

I am obsessed with eyes. I love photographing, deciphering, reading and writing about and painting nayan. And I thought this is one of my recent quirks until I stumbled upon a piece of art (yes- I like to call it so!) done in the day I finished my board examinations in early 2007. 

Undoubtedly, I have one long way to go as an artist of substance, but art, like my writing and music, is a mode of self-expression, and although it may not compare to Three Musicians, it keeps me at peace with my inner being and inspires me to seek knowledge and learning. 

Inspired by Ghalib:

The Rose, with its redolent petals

The Water Lily, with its robe of virgin white

These have surely come to us in Transmigration

Of but a few of those 

Endowed with sublime beauty and grace

Some embrace death to sprout again

But most, forever, in the dust remain… 

 

And compare that with another done last weekend.. in crayons! Yes- I was out of paint (sigh-a nightmare with shops tightly shut on Sundays in Goa!) and too restless to wait. 

Inspired by Pandit Nehru

We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures that we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open.

 

Eyes galore, eh?

What say thou, hapless being?

Leave a Reply

