A Mélange of Muses

I have recently become obsessed, to put it lightly, with a few..ahem.. areas: CAT prep, travel, Tibetian Buddism, finance and markets.. and I have also managed to get back to my shutter-crazy mood, preferring to experiment with angles and twilight! *Click- Click, and all the better if you are a drop of water or cheese-my latest muse!*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Speaking of muses, Tibetian Buddhism is a treasure-trove of inspiration. I came across the concept of Dakini, energy perceived in the feminine form, each with its unique essence and spiritual character. And to channel my peaceful vibrations further, I found this– contemplative poetry describing each Dakini and Buddha first as a spiritual personality, their role in Vajrayana Buddhism and lastly, their role as a spiritual guru of sorts. 

The Blue Dakini inspired me the most…

I am the sapphire dakini, the dancer on ocean and sky 
In my sky form, I appear in the middle of a shining blue lotus, 
against a mother of pearl sky at sunrise 
I am seated with smiling face, and two hands 
One holds a bell, and the other a book 
One leg descends from the lotus.

I am the sky dancer of infinite mind 
The purity of a bright blue sky, 
without clouds or smoke 
And the deep blue evening sky, 
shining with stars 
I draw out the seeker’s awareness 
from the grasping hands of matter 
I am the clear music which awakens the mind 
and causes the body to slumber.

I am also the ocean dancer of infinite perception 
The clear water which washes away the mud and dust of desire 
Which cleanses the heart of passion 
In the midst of the turquoise waters, my lotus is royal blue 
I am smiling with three eyes 
My four arms hold knife, bell, mala, and mirror 
I wear black veils, which float gracefully in the ocean 
My lotus’ petals are blue, but its center is black and gold 
In this form, I am revelatory 
I show the true path through the oceans of feeling.

My sky form is peaceful and compassionate, 
giving love and help 
My skin is pale blue, 
and I wear white pearls, sapphires, and emeralds 
My robes are gold and white, and my halo is deep blue 
In this form, I bring the gift of silence to disordered minds

My ocean form is active and creative, influencing the worlds 
I am dark, for my actions include both creation and destruction 
I create the pathways which seekers may travel to silence 
And I destroy the distractions which hold them like chains.

From the third eye of my active form comes my destructive form 
The wrathful blue dakini 
In this form, I am invoked during danger 
To protect the soul from destructive influences 
Bondage comes in many forms, 
as desire, as passion, as obsession, and interest 
I cut the bonds of attachment and darken the skies 
to show the true status of embodiment 
I am the formless light who takes on formed darkness 
to free those who are bound and blinded.

I am the blue lightning which shatters locks and chains 
The bolt of liberating insight out of the blue 
The blue notes of sorrow and regret over the past, 
the beginning of renunciation 
The path into the blue depths of eternity.

I am ordered and disciplined, yet spontaneous and free 
I come to practitioners who are worthy 
I am the initiating dakini 
for those seeking a pure heart and an infinite mind.

 

And so.. armed with the Mantra of le grande et tres belle Muse, this wave of wo(a)nder is off to surf sundry turfs.. 

Rêve pour toujours! Dream forever!

4 thoughts on “A Mélange of Muses

Leave a Reply

